neonf1 neonf1
  • Not too shy to talk
  • Not too shy to talk
  • From Middlesex
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 5/5/2007 4:18
!!!!!! Need Your Help !!!!!!! #1
Hi Guys....I'm a newbie to looking after fish I have two questions I've just bought a Fluval Uno 600 Tank (set up for cold water fish) and it comes with the Fluval 2 Plus Underwater Filter! Now am I meant to place the black carbon filter in between the two white filters?
this is a 63 litre tank so how many fish can I have in it?

Hope you can help all the best Neon.
Fishy-Fishy Fishy-Fishy
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Moderators Advisers FK Supporter Deep End
  • Posted on: 5/5/2007 9:56
Re: !!!!!! Need Your Help !!!!!!! #2
Hi Neon, welcome to FK

You can replace the carbon if you want or you can just throw it out. I don't bother with carbon in my filters unless I am removing medication because it gets pretty expensive replacing carbon all the time! If you do water testing and keep up a good maintenance schedule then you should never really need carbon.

You tank isn't really big enough for goldfish but there are loads of other options.

One fish that is really popular is the white cloud mountain minnow. They are small, pretty and easy to look after. Have a look at this page- http://www.aquatic-hobbyist.com/profi ... cyprinids/whitecloud.html You could have about 12 of those in your tank if you had no other fish.

If the room that your aquarium is in is warm then there are more fish you can have. How about a shoal of zebra danios? You could have 6-8 in there, they are really nice fish. http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/modules/ ... esheet.php?caresheetID=20

Or you could mix a couple of different kinds of fish ie 6 white cloud mountain minnows and 6 peppered corydoras- http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/modules/ ... /article.php?articleid=49 The peppered one is the second one in the photos at the bottom.