SodburyBungy SodburyBungy
  • Not too shy to talk
  • Not too shy to talk
  • From Avon
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 18/11/2006 10:59
New Tank - Pioneer Fish Dying - No reason #1
New to forum - hope someone can help.
I've been keeping fish for 10 years now and never really had any problems. I've had a small quantity of tetras (neon & bleeding heart) in a small 15 inch tank for 4 years but recently the hood light broke and melted the plastic. I used this as an excuse to get a slightly bigger tank and opted for an Aqua One UFO350 (Limited floor space in house). I dutifully set it all up with the undergravel filter, plastic plants and decor, all washed under running water, and ran for a week adding Cycle as per instructions (as I've done before). After a week I added 2 of my Bleeding Heart Tetras from the old tank, using stress coat and taking all the usual precautions, to act as the pioneer fish to help mature the filter. 5 days later both were dead, which I was quite upset about as I'd had them for about 3 years. Water quality is fine, No ammonia yet, PH in limits, temperature stable etc. The second had definite tail fin rot. So I put this down to bad handling when I netted the fish and stress.

I've now added a few Silver Tip tetras as Pioneers, as I hoped the stress would be less by getting them straight from the shop instead of chasing them around my other tank. When I came down this morning, one was already dead, less than 24 hours later. I'm keeping a close eye on the rest.