(1) 2 3 4 »
alyndavies alyndavies
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • From Mid Glamorgan
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 25/7/2006 10:05
Gold Fish Is Bloated on the Left Hand Side #1
Ok, i'm fairly new to keeping fish, i had a few when i was younger, but they lived in a bowl so ive never had anything on this scale before.
I've set up a 120 litre aquarium in my dining room, I've an autistic son and apparently an aquarium can relax them. I've slowly added fish to it over the last 5 weeks, but one of my fish (Patch) appears bloated on the left hand side (assuming the fish is facing you). I know its not constipated because ive seen it go to the toilet several times, this fish is about 2" long, and has always been a little chubbier than the others, although the fish is [feeding and swimming fine, im worried that the bloating has caused its tail to go at a slight angle (away from the bloating), is it pregnant or something? it doesnt appear unhappy or in pain, and none of the fish are ignoring it, its still got the same fish playing with it, as it did when i first had it, but im still worried for it =(.

I feed the Goldfish once in the mornings, 2 pinches, and once every other evening, this seems the best way of keeping them happy, though they also can eat the plantsin the aquarium, though to say ive had differing advice on feeding my fish would be a massive understatement!

Quote:
From emergencies:
Could you please supply us with as much of the following information as possible. This will allow us to give you better information on resolving your problem

Size of tank in Litre or Gallons, if you don't know the water capcity then the physical size of the tank L x W x H?

120 Litres (uk)

Quote:
What filter do you use?

The one that came with the tank, sorry i dont have more info. It keep the water clean, so its coping with the fishes waste.

Quote:
How long as the tank been setup?

About 6 weeks

Quote: