(1) 2 3 »
Fishyfishfish Fishyfishfish
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 8/4 20:08
General advice for planting my tank! #1
Hey there everyone!

I need some advice about planting my tank but I'm a complete amateur with this, so bear with me.

Tank is a Fluval Roma 125 with a sand substrate; my first question is should I take the plunge and go for a proper soil substrate? I don't particularly care what plants I have (though I've been eyeing up the mixed boxes on aquaessentials.co.uk).

Being honest I would like to get a soil substrate to give the plants the best chance of success, but I've read that it can cause ammonia spikes, particularly at the beginning. The fish can't be kept anywhere other than a bucket when replacing the substrate so they must go back in once it's done. Tropica soil is what I've been looking at specifically.

Or would the sand suffice for 'most' plants?

I've been looking at liquid fertilizer (TNC complete) would this be a good choice?

I've just purchased a Fluval Light 3.0 so that's the biggest expense taken care of (I needed it as the light I use has broken so I took the opportunity). I'm hoping this is a good choice considering how much it cost me!

I would very much appreciate any advice you can give.

Many thanks!
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Caresheets Moderators FK Supporter Registered Users Image Admin Advisers
  • Posted on: 9/4 10:43
Re: General advice for planting my tank! #2