SamH31 SamH31
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 17/7 18:08
Some advice. #1
Hey everyone.
So we have had our tank for about 1 month now.
Complete novice, we have a 2 & a half year old and have been taking her to our local aquarium since she was 6 months old so decided on getting a 56 litre tank.

We currently over the month have added.

2 smails
2 shrimp
6 tetras
3 guppys
1 balloon mollys

So I've brought all my fish from pets at home.
I've had 1 molly and 1 guppy die on me.

Now I believe my tank is OK. They tested the water first time round.

What could be the reasons for them dying??

Also I've been cleaning my tank once a week with a 10% water change which I upped last week.

The tank is going pretty green after 6 days and I don't know why?

Would it be better to get a better filter??
I've currently got a Aquael one what came with the tank.

Any help would be would be great.
fcmf fcmf
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership Advisers
  • Posted on: 18/7 13:42
Re: Some advice. #2
Good to read about your tank but sorry to read that you've had a couple of fatalities.

The main reason for fish dying is if the water quality is sub-optimum.
Fish produce waste (ammonia) which converts to a less toxic form (nitrates) if the filter is properly cycled.