(1) 2 »
JessFishKeeper JessFishKeeper
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 14/4 22:30
Goldfish Fry #1
Hi I’m new to FK☺️
I was interested in breeding my goldfish, but then found out that they’d beaten me to it! The eggs were laid by my large oranda, and fertilised by my common goldfish. Once I spotted the eggs, I transferred my fish into a separate tank (some things said to move the eggs, but mine were stuck to the tank and part of the filter) the eggs have now hatched and the fry are around 2 days old now, swimming to the surface and eating small crumbles of goldfish flakes.
I just want to make sure I’m doing things right - can I still treat the water or could the chemicals damage the fry and their growth? Am I right in thinking they also feed off of algae so not to treat the water for algae?
This is my first time with baby goldfish so just want to make sure I’m doing everything right so that they have the highest chance of survival!
Thanks in advance😁
Goldy Goldy
  • Forum Manager
  • Forum Manager
  • From Cheshire
  • Group: Registered Users Image Admin Caresheets Moderators Advisers
  • Posted on: 15/4 11:02
Re: Goldfish Fry #2
Hi Jess and welcome to FK, you are lucky you managed to save the eggs as goldfish are well known for eating them so well done, as for treating the water you will still need to use a water conditioner when doing water changes but would leave off using any algae treatments for the time being.
you can feed your goldfish infusoria and newly hatched brine shrimp, foods you can either buy online or culture yourself. usually after their first week of feeding, baby goldfish will accept dried fish foods like ground down flakes, although you say they are already taking this..
knowing your tank set up will help us too.

here's an old thread you might find interesting
https://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/modules/ ... t&topic_id=26720&forum=30
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 15/4 22:08