MickC MickC
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 6/4 11:58
Brown weed/algae? #1
I’m hoping someone can help me, I'm a novice. Please look at the attached images. I thought at first this was diatoms, but my understanding is that diatoms are slimy and easily rubbed off. What I have here is very tough to remove, even on glass I have to use a razor blade scraper and work at it. You can see the build up around the filter/pump housing. The water parameters seem pretty normal, pH around 6.7, nitrates around 50ppm, marginal nitrite and ammonia. Water changed 30% weekly.

Any thoughts and advice advice on this would be really appreciated.

Attach file:

jpg  23000_5e8b0b264ef84.jpg (396.60 KB)
23000_5e8b0b264ef84.jpg 1498X2126 px
fcmf fcmf
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership Advisers
  • Posted on: 6/4 14:11
Re: Brown weed/algae? #2
What is your tap water level of nitrates? Try to ensure that your nitrate level is no more than 20ppm above whatever your tap water nitrate level is, and definitely get ammonia and nitrite down to 0 for each - extra or more frequent water changes ought to help achieve that.

After a thorough scrubbing of the brown algae, does it return to that level within a week? If so, you may need to consider adjusting your lighting schedule - I've found a bit of an improvement by reducing my own from 7 to 6 hours. You might get a few additional tips/suggestions from here:
https://www.thesprucepets.com/aquarium-algae-1379979
https://fishlab.com/brown-algae/
MickC MickC
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 7/4 13:43
Re: Brown weed/algae? #3
Thanks very much for your reply and suggestions. The nitrate is down to less than 20ppm, the tap water appears to be zero on my liquid test kit.