Matt90 Matt90
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 20/8 21:55
Beginner #1
Hi all,

I am new to fish keeping (only ever owned goldfish), but I am very interested in setting up a nice freshwater tank in my living room (either coldwater or tropical).

I have lined up a second hand Juwel Trigon 350, hoping to collect it in about a month's time. It currently has a single Ocean Free Hydra 50 (Internal HOB filter - 1000lph), and I plan to buy an additional 1000lph HOB filter, maybe the Interpet PF4. I'll have the two filters setup together, alternating the cleaning to ensure good bacteria remains in the tank at all times.

I have never used external or canister filters - I have heard these are more hands on with maintenance, ideally I am wanting to reduce the physical effort required to maintain the tank wherever possible so thinking about avoiding these unless told otherwise. I am currently aiming to maintain the tank by performing regular water changes, using a gravel cleaner and maintaining the 2 internal filters.

The water GH in my area is reasonably hard. The PH always seems to be around 7.0.

I would like a community tank with a few breeds that swim in schools, whereas my wife would like a few larger fish that can be easily identified and named like normal pets... As mentioned previously I would like to reduce the effort required to maintain the tank as much as possible, so aiming for fish that produce little waste to keep bioload low.

I am aiming for a planted tank with a gravel base, so far I have looked into Java Fern, Java Moss, Anubias and Amazon Sword. I have never had a planted tank so know next to nothing about them unfortunately, I would plan to have these planted first and allowed time to grow while performing a fishless cycle.