allanahd061 allanahd061
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 25/6 2:41
Concern for my two fishes health! #1
my black goldfish has prominent white spots and clamped fins. My shubunkin has a quite a few white spots too but also what i assume to be a streak of blood in his tail. is this fin rot? Ick? My other fish seem to be healthy. My tank is about 22L and i use water conditioner and beneficial bacterial for my tap water, I clean it out roughly once a week. The hang on filter gets cleaned every month or so. I also have some duckweed in my aquarium and feed sinking pellets three times a day usually. Any help would be greatly appreciated as i am new to this!
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Moderators Image Admin Caresheets FK Supporter Registered Users Advisers
  • Posted on: 25/6 9:57
Re: Concern for my two fishes health! #2
First, do you have a test kit? If so please post test results for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate. The bloody streaks are common where there is ammonia and/or nitrite in the water. Secondly, it sounds like they have white spot - treat this with Esha Exit.

The bad news is that the cause of this is that your tank is much too small - it's not even big enough for one goldfish. The minimum for a single fancy goldfish (fantails, black moor etc) is 140 litre plus 40 litres more for every additional fish. For single tails like the shubunkin it needs to be even bigger. This article explains: https://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/articles ... -size-life-expectancy.htm
Cameron920 Cameron920
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 25/6 16:46
Re: Concern for my two fishes health! #3
22 litres is way too small for fancy goldfish, I'd see if you could give them back to your lfs or move them to a much larger tank/pond.

Every new fish keeper makes the same mistake and trust me they will have a short and miserable life.
allanahd061 allanahd061