Gibboblack Gibboblack
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 28/3 11:56
Fishless cycle, ammonia vs nitrite #1
Hi All,

First things first. I am new to tropical freshwater fish keeping. It is something that has interested me all my life, and rather than buying a nice sports car for my midlife crisis I've decided caring for fish is a much better pursuit.

I've done a lot of up front reading. This forum has been a very useful resource, thank you :)

I am just looking for advice to help me try and expand my understanding of the nitrogen cycle. There seems to be a lot of conflicting information, and a lot of the instructional information on fishless cycling doesn't really deal with or warn you about what can or might not happen.

To provide a bit of background...

On day1 I set up the tank and left it for 48 hours to warm up and declorinate.
On day3 I added Dr Tims one and only, and dosed the tank with ammonia upto 2ppm.
In the coming days I tested, and re dosed ammonia as instructed
By day11 ammonia was cycling within 24 hours, and nitrite was high.
On reflection nitrite had sky rocketed and me being new to this, I was not reading the chart correctly. I have very quickly learned that I cannot discern the colour above 1ppm. The chart is useless to me above this value. A couple of days passed and...
On day13 I realised perhaps my interpretation of the colours was incorrect. To remedy the situation I made a series of significant but incremental water changes and finally got my nitrite down to 2ppm. Ive taken to measuring fractions of tank water, I.e. A 1/4 tank water to 3/4 tap water as it gives me a more obvious result which I can scale up. My nitrite was in excess of 20ppm.
For the next 2 days I monitored the tank, however nitrite was still going up, even though I hadn't fed the tank since day 11.
On day15 the nitrite was above 5ppm, so I did another water change. Bringing it back to 0.5ppm