binman binman
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 31/12 10:51
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 2
  • Posted on: 31/12 10:59
Tank leak, need to move fish #1
Hello. Bit of a newbie. Had a tank leak, and to be honest panicked a bit as I was unprepared.

I've had a 54L tank for a year with 4 guppies and 6 cardinal tetras.

I had a big leak, so in an emergency I had to move the fish into a 20l Ikea tub, transferring the old filter over. 4 of the tetras died, but the remaining fish seem happy in this tub.

I've bought a new 64l tank, which is filled and running with the ornaments from the old tank.

Question: Whats the best way to move the fish to the new tank?

I am happy to fishless cycle the new tank, but that would mean the leaving the 6 fish in the small 20l tub while the new tank cycles - not sure if thats a good idea. Or could I safely move old filter to new tank & add the fish?

Info:
- New tank set up for 1 week
- New tank pH 6.8, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 0, Chlorine 0.8, temp 26 (Nitrite & Nitrate were high, but now 0, as I assume cycle has stopped)
- New tank - no fish
- Added Interpet Fast Start (2 doses over 4 days)
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Joined: 6/7/2010 18:26
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Moderators Image Admin Caresheets FK Supporter Registered Users Advisers
  • Posts: 12944
  • Posted on: 31/12 12:03
Re: Tank leak, need to move fish #2
The quickest way to do this is to take the media out of your old filter and put it in the new one. That will transfer the beneficial bacteria and the new tank will instantly be cycled.
binman binman
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 31/12 10:51
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 2
  • Posted on: 31/12 12:54
Re: Tank leak, need to move fish #3
Thank you very much - puts my mind at ease!