GazStar89 GazStar89
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 6/8/2018 15:48
Angelfish breeding? #1
Hi everyone. I’m new to the forum so please bear with me!

I’m relatively new to keeping tropical fish and wanted some advice. I have approx 60L tank with a molly, a shark fish, a catfish, 2 finish with long thinks on them (whiskers?), 3 young angelfish and 2 big angelfish.

I woke up this morning and noticed white dots on the filter of the tank (I was actually going to clean the tank/filters as there’s algae building up because there’s so much light in my living room). Doing some research I realised these are eggs - it’s the first time it’s happened in about 8 months of having them; I’ve recently moved house and moved the fish in to a larger tank with more foliage, etc... it quickly became apparent that they are from the angelfish as both male and female are protecting that area of the tank - I would say the male is the most dominant in the tank as he’s usually a bit of a bully.

So the question is what should I do? I have a box that goes into the tank to separate them. There’s also a pump in the tank that runs constantly. Will they hatch and if so, how can I protect them from being eaten? Sorry - I’m sure this has been asked a million times before. There’s 2 filters in the tank running also if that makes a difference. I’ve attached some pictures.

Thanks in advance!
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Caresheets Moderators FK Supporter Registered Users Image Admin Advisers
  • Posted on: 6/8/2018 19:02
Re: Angelfish breeding? #2