jinnie jinnie
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Cumbria
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 15/2/2014 18:56
White spot help #1
Hi all
Could someone please give me their advice of now best to get rid of white spot. I have noticed it on one of my cardinal tetras & also one of my 8 week old baby guppy. I also have a pleco in there, neon tetras, adult & baby guppies, which so far aren't showing signs.........Yet!!
A friend recommended Esha Exit. But on reading several different web sites, some say do a total water change daily, others say just to do a 20% change daily for 4 weeks. Also I'm confused as to add aquarium salt in the process of tackling the problem.

All advice would be greatly appreciated as I'm a beginner in this fantastic hobby.

Many thanks
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Caresheets Moderators FK Supporter Registered Users Image Admin Advisers
  • Posted on: 15/2/2014 19:51
Re: White spot help #2
Hi

It will be easier to advise if you can give us some details.

How big is the tank?
How long has it been set up and was it cycled before any fish were added?
Test results for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH?
Temperature?
How often do you change water and how much each time?
Have you added any new fish or plants recently?

A few pointers:

Esha Exit is an excellent white spot medication, but as with all meds don't use salt at the same time and don't do any water changes during treatment - unless you have any issues with ammonia or nitrite in which case concurrent water changes and careful redosing calculations may be needed.

Don't use aquarium salt at all, these are freshwater fish and the Cardinals especially will not like it.