Kevyla Kevyla
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Gloucestershire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 6/8/2013 8:43
Mirror Carp always on surface #1
Hi, Newbie here!

We've had our pond for approx 13 years now, with relatively few problems.

However, I'm a little concerned about our large mirror carp which we've had from day one.

Although she (we think it's a she) swims fine and has the appetite of a about 100 goldfish, she spends her entire life on the surface of the pond with her back and dorsal fin out of the water.

Is this likely to mean the fish has something wrong with it?

Due to the length of time we've had "Carpus Maximus", we are very attached to her and would be very sad to lose her.

Any suggestions?
finnipper finnipper
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • From Lancashire
  • Group: Takin' a break...
  • Posted on: 6/8/2013 8:59
Re: Mirror Carp always on surface #2
I take it that this is fairly new behaviour? Has anything changed in the pond which happened about the same time as this. Apart from staying near the surface is the fish otherwise ok, you mentioned it is still feeding but is it still fully alert and react to stimulation i.e if you try to touch it would swim away in the normal way. Can the fish swim below the surface if it wants to or is it very buoyant and unable to do so.
Finally have you tested the water if so what are the results of the tests.
Out of curiosity how deep is the pond.
Kevyla Kevyla
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Gloucestershire
  • Posted on: 6/8/2013 9:06
Re: Mirror Carp always on surface #3
This behaviour has been the whole of this summer. I can't honestly remember if she was the same last year, but I don't think so.

Nothing has changed that I can think of.

The fish seems generally fine apart from being at the top all of the time. She eats like a pig and yes, swims away if touched.