Carter_Knight Carter_Knight
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Lincolnshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 26/5/2013 2:23
New Tropical Tank and New To FK Forums :) Newbie advice needed please !!! #1
Hi all,

Ok so I have just bought an Interpet 64L Fish-Box aquarium with a view to setting it up as a tropical environment.
(I've added a couple of pics for you all to have a look at, let me know what you think?)
Crucially I think its important to mention here that I am completely new to fishkeeping. (Although, I have done a fair bit of reading before deciding to take up this hobby). I am really here for some guidance as I want to get this right first time :D

Right, so here's where I am with my new set-up:

- After cleaning all my substrate (sand) in a bucket until the water ran clear I added it to my tank.
- I then filled my tank with tap water until is was about 1/2 full.
- At this point I added decor, fake plants (not confident enough yet to have live plants!), rocks and my other equipment (Heater, air pump, and PF2 Internal power filter).
- I then topped off the tank with more tap water.

At this point I turned on the heater, filter and air pump (mainly to check they all work).

Now this is where I get a little lost......

So I understand I should 'cycle' any new tank in order to build up sufficient friendly bacteria before adding any stock.

I added my 'Interpet Tap Safe' to de-chlorinate the water, soon after I also added 'Interpet Filter Start' (both of which I have read aren't the best products but they came with the tank so I may aswell use them).

It's at this point I don't quite know what I should be doing next, other than waiting a while and testing the water for ammonia to increase then decrease, nitrite to increase followed by nitrate, then for the nitrite to begin decreasing. Once the ammonia and nitrite are completely gone I can add fish right???

Some clear questions I do have are: