ollyno1uk ollyno1uk
  • Not too shy to talk
  • Not too shy to talk
  • From Dorset
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 4/3/2013 13:16
Help!! #1
Hi guys

I am new to keeping fish. A friend moved away so I agreed to take on their fish and tank. However their tank did not have a stand so I ended up buying a new tank with new filter etc.

The tank is 100l, I went over and collected 20l of his water for and the rest was tap water. Everything was ok but now some fish have started dieing and the others don't look too content.

On reading up, it seems there may be no cycle going on so I have ordered some testers for the water today.

Until this arrives I am unsure of the best thing to be doing - maybe keep on changing a percentage of water each day?

I also note that I should not have been using straight tap water - the previous owner always did but I guess I should be using some conditioner. I have ordered this also today so should I proceed with the water changing without it or would it do more harm than good?

In addition to the questions above, being new to this I really want to make sure the fish are happy. So could anyone help with the following questions?

1) what temperature is optimal? I have it set on 25 degrees but it can be adjusted up and down.

2) The filter that came with the new tank seems to get blocked and the air bubbles don't come out as much. I gave this a good clean and the bubbles started again, however I am concerned that cleaning it like this may cause the friendly bacteria to die adding to my problem. Should it need regular cleaning (once per week)? maybe the tank would benefit from a different filter or a better model?

Finally, what do you use to change the water in the tank? I am currently using 5 l bottles but is there a trick I am missing to make it easier? Maybe just a large bucket?

Sorry about the long post and so many questions but hoping someone can advise.

Olly
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator