Meggriff83 Meggriff83
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From North Yorkshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 4/10/2012 16:19
Sick Oranda #1
I am brand new to fish keeping and just got my tank last week and the fish a few days ago. I followed advise from the assistant at Pets at Home but having read some other posts I think my tank is way too small and I now have a very unhappy fish...

Size of tank: 28 litres
Filter: Maxi internal filter (came with tank)
How long has tank been set up: One week
Inhabitants: One small Oranda (Ben)
Last added: 1 plant and 1 fish added 3 days ago (the tank was set up and the filter running for 4 days before the fish was added)

I added a dechlorinator and a filter boost to the water on the day I set it up and also added aquarium salt following the instructions on the back of the products.

On the first day Ben swam around and ate the food I gave him - one small flake. On the 2nd day he was much more still and did not eat. For the past 2 days he has continued to not eat and has barely moved.

Any helpful advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!
jaspersdad jaspersdad
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • From Warwickshire
  • Group: Deep End Registered Users FK Supporter
  • Posted on: 4/10/2012 17:39
Re: Sick Oranda #2
P@H ^^^^^ just saying!

Right this is quite bad so please bear with us. You are already aware that the tank is far too small for a goldfish. I addition to this your filter is not cycled. Where are you? If there is somebody local you may be able to get some mature media, but you also need to get a big food safe container (Asda sell a 110L).

http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/articles ... -size-life-expectancy.htm

Make sure you treat the water with conditioner to remove Chlorine and Chloramine.

JON
Original Image
suey2 suey2
  • Coldwater Moderator
  • Coldwater Moderator
  • From London
  • Group: Caresheets Moderators Registered Users Advisers Image Admin