• Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Oxfordshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 14/8/2011 0:09
siamese fighter death #1
Hi everyone,

i am new to this so looking for some help

i have a new is tank that has been set up for a month ish. i have a number of fish in there at the moment

a few guppies a couple glass fish and a couple of clown loach and also 2 snails. (the loach are small and leave the snails alone)

I noticed that my fighter was laying on the bottom and only moving a bit. he had also changed colour. from a blue to a kinda silver colour this was in a 24 hour period. the next day he died i did a water test and the amnia was at 1.0 so i put some amonia eqelizer in to the water to help.

i had also done a water change a few days before and cleaned the fiters as the water was looking merky. thanks for your help people

Amusingmax
amusingmax amusingmax
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Oxfordshire
  • Posted on: 14/8/2011 0:17
Re: siamese fighter death #2
i also have 2 plecks in there as well should of said that soz and it is a 60 ltr tank
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Caresheets Moderators FK Supporter Registered Users Image Admin Advisers
  • Posted on: 14/8/2011 0:21
Re: siamese fighter death #3
Hi and welcome to FK,

Firstly can you add a few details please?

WHat is the size of your tank in litres or gallons (post dimensions if not sure)?

How long has it been set up?

Was it cycled for 4-6 weeks using a surce of ammonia before adding fish?

WHat are the pH and hardness of your water?

How often do you do a partial water change and how much each time?

Those details will help a lot, but in the meantime the death of the Betta will most likely have been due to the ammonia in the tank. Ammonia should always read 0, so I'm guessing the tank isn't yet cycled and this is likely to be an ongoing problem for a while for your other fish.