• Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • From Buckinghamshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 6/11/2005 23:32
Yet another newbie after some info #1
Hi Everyone

I’m new to this so please be gentle

I used to keep goldfish (mainly blackmoors) many moons ago, but after spending years with nowhere to put a tank, I've got a home and I’ve now decided to take the plunge into tropical fish. So I need some help!

I’ve decided to go for either a Juwel Trigon 190, or a Rio 240. And I’d like to have a community of small fish with hopefully some shrimp to add variety.

So here are my first queries,
1. The Juwel tanks come with a filter/heater. Are these any good, or would I be better off buying the tank and hardware separately?
2. What fish would you recommend, bearing in mind I’ve decided that large shoals of small fish are what I’m after.
3. And will they live happily with the shrimp?
4. And is the shop I’m planning on getting all this from any good? (It’s a big place in Oxford, so rather than getting in trouble for advertising them, I’ll let you put 2 & 2 together)

I’ll be asking me lsf for advice as well, but there are some very knowledgeable people here so I’d like your views too.
I was originally going to go for a marine set up, but after doing my homework; I think I’ll leave it for now.
Euryale Euryale
  • Brackish Moderator
  • Brackish Moderator
  • From Essex
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 6/11/2005 23:45
Re: Yet another newbie after some info #2
Hello Digitalis and welcome

Quote:

Digitalis wrote:

So here are my first queries,
1. The Juwel tanks come with a filter/heater. Are these any good, or would I be better off buying the tank and hardware separately?