Onyxia Onyxia
  • Plants Adviser
  • Plants  Adviser
  • From London
  • Group: Deep End Advisers Registered Users
  • Posted on: 17/11/2010 14:28
Re-sealing a tank #1
Im sure other people have written similar things but I didnt find them in a quick search so hopefully this will be useful to someone.

I am a DIY novice, my experience so far is limited to flatpack and putting up shelves. Honestly if I can do this anyone can!

I started by looking around the internet for guides and there are lots out there. I found enough contradictory advice to make my head spin. This is the guide I ended up using.

Its a really good basic guide but I did find a few problems with it.

1. The 3 hours he says it takes is a bit optimistic. Where the old sealant was badly applied it took me ages to remove it properly. I suppose you could just be less thorough when prepairing the tank but previous experience with other adhesives tells me this is a very bad idea. The better the prep work the less likely you are to have a wet floor.

2. Once most of the sealant is off you are going to have to clean the glass. I tried with a washing up sponge/scourer as suggested in the guide but the silicone sticks to the sponge and its really hard going. Instead I used a microfibre cloth. This revealed more smears of sealant so I went over those bits again with the blade, it came off easily once some pressure was applied. I repeated that until no silicone was left on the glass and the tank looked clean. Things really speed up once you get to this point.