Fishlips Fishlips
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From Hertfordshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 5/11/2010 23:06
New here and help required! #1
Hi all and thanks for taking time to read this.
Firstly let me just say I have never kept marine before!
I have about 7 years experience with various tropical set-ups, but I have had a few years away from fish keeping due to my ex not liking them!! You can see why she is my ex now she had to go and the fish make a return lol
Anyhow I am limited on space and I don't want to go for anything large as I maybe moving house again within the year so would like to keep things simple for myself.
I have purchased a 60L tank - it's a bi orb life (don't all start shouting lol) I know there are lots of lovers and haters, this is not the bowl variety - I have attached a pic so you know which sort it is. I realise they are not the best for a marine set-up (or indeed a tropical set-up) however it is my chosen tank so please don't turn this into a tank bashing thread
Basically this is what I plan:
To do away with the standard filtration system and put a layer of live sand with about 8kg of live rock in there. I will keep the pump and air stone in there to have some bubbles and help with water turn over and oxygenation, but I will probably cut the centre tube almost completely out to give a little extra room to play with.
I will invest in a power head to help the water flow for the live rock - can anyone suggest a small but powerful pump for that? (a koralia nano pump maybe?) Also would I be best off mounting the pump towards the top of the tank or should it be behind or pointing onto the live rock?
Obviously I will invest in a hydrometer and a water testing kit.
I kind of intend on keeping the led lighting system - I hope it's up to the job.
It will be a fish only tank by the way!

Once the tank has cycled do you think the following stocking would be ok -