Amie Amie
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From West Midlands
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 10/7/2010 15:52
PH, just not getting it. #1
Hiya,

I'm a complete newbie to marine. I've been doing some research and hope to set up a 30G tank next year some time. It might sound really stupid, but here's what I can't ever seem to get my head around and I thought it best to ask.

Here's what I know. The PH needs to be between 8 - 8.4 for Seahorses (I know they're the most difficult fish to look after, but I have a lot time and energy to put into this, I understand about their care, but struggling somewhat with acheiving to understand marine water), what I don't know is how to acheive a PH of this value if I'm using RO water. I'm guessin RO water has a PH value of 7, right? I've genrally used tap water, but have been told I must use RO to keep Seahorses.

I know that using things such as proper PH chemical buffers is bad and using lemon juice etc on a regular basis is also bad. My tap water PH is 6.5 which is perfect for the fish I already have, so I've never really had to worry about this before. Would using crushed coral as a substrate or using a mesh bag of crushed coral in the filter help to increase PH and harden the water????

Could I store RO in big containers in the gararge, run a power head and air pump them with something in there to increase PH before I add the water to the tank maybe? I'd be storing the water for quite some time before I used it because there isn't a place close by that sells RO water and I don't want to have to drive miles every week when I do the 25% water change.

P.S I have bought marine aquariums for dummies, lol.

Thanks very much for any advice, I just can't seem to find this information on the internet. Maybe because it's such a stupid question.
mattias mattias
  • Not too shy to talk
  • Not too shy to talk
  • From Gwyedd
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 13/7/2010 10:58