avons82 avons82
  • Not too shy to talk
  • Not too shy to talk
  • From Kent
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 3/6/2010 12:43
new pond advice please! #1
Hi!
From advice I got on here I'm transferring my large indoor goldfish into an outdoor pond.

Do I need to treat the water as I would an indoor tank, ie chlorine balance etc.

Its just a 175gal pond for 3 fish. Do I need a filter?

Does the water need to sit in the pond a certain time before I can introduce the fish?

And can anyone give me any advice on maintaining the pond? Water changes etc?

What plants are best and does it need gravel at the bottom?

Any info / advice would be great - Im a beginner, if you couldnt already tell!

amey
2010 2010
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • From -
  • Posted on: 3/6/2010 19:51
Re: new pond advice please! #2
Hello avons82, welcome to the water gardening part of the forum.

When adding fish to any tap water yes, you do need to either wait for a week or so or add a dechorinator.

You can find out more about ponds and filters HERE .

But I have a question for you.

Why would you want to put gravel in the bottom of a fish pond? Is it because that's what you do in a fish tank? (I really would appreciate an answer)

Any other questions, please ask
Otter Otter
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • From United States
  • Posted on: 4/6/2010 9:33
Re: new pond advice please! #3
Quote:

avons82 wrote:
Hi!
From advice I got on here I'm transferring my large indoor goldfish into an outdoor pond.

Do I need to treat the water as I would an indoor tank, ie chlorine balance etc.

Yes.

Quote:
Its just a 175gal pond for 3 fish. Do I need a filter?

Yes. One rule of thumb for goldfish ponds is 30-50 gallons per adult fish. Though you're slightly above this minimum, you still need a pump and filter.

Quote:
Does the water need to sit in the pond a certain time before I can introduce the fish?