Critch Critch
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 15/12/2008 22:22
  • From Lancashire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership Deep End
  • Posts: 1093
  • Posted on: 19/3/2010 15:28
Pond question #1
daft question very curious

Do you have to Cycle a pond like with a tank ?

i would guess yes ???
__________________

Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit, wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad!
I dont keep fish i keep water the fish are only there for decoration
rubadub rubadub
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Joined: 21/7/2009 19:36
  • From West Midlands
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 79
  • Posted on: 19/3/2010 18:08
Re: Pond question #2
I would say yes too.

One thing to keep in mind is that in a big pond the ratio of water volume to fish is probably much larger than a tank which means the fish don't have such a dramatic and quick impact on the overall water quality. If you are putting a lot of big fish in a small pond, then reverse would be true.

A quite extreme example is when I had just three fry in a 400 liter pond. I didn't record any ammonia or nitrites ever, even though the fry were obviously eating and growing and getting bigger. Once I put the other 9 fish in, then I started getting readings but I think my filter had matured biologically by then.

Also, having a pond full of plants, bugs, snails, wildlife should all help with certain aspects of water quality.

As well as cycling the pond, it is just as important to make sure the tap water you add to the pond has been treated to remove the chlorine etc.
2010 2010
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 25/10/2009 22:31
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 979
  • Posted on: 19/3/2010 19:45
Re: Pond question #3
Its not a daft question, but no, you do not cycle a pond, but it also depends on your deffinition of cycle a pond.
Mitchofmedway Mitchofmedway
  • Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • Joined: 7/8/2009 17:11
  • From Kent
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 45
  • Posted on: 21/3/2010 20:01
Re: Pond question #4
I set my pond up, got the pumps running and added some plants all over a weekend. But left the pond for two weeks before adding any fish.

Hope that helps
Resized Image
Critch Critch
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 15/12/2008 22:22
  • From Lancashire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership Deep End
  • Posts: 1093
  • Posted on: 22/3/2010 12:09
Re: Pond question #5
Mmmm yes that helps a little,

cos that is what i was thinking of doing
__________________

Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit, wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad!
I dont keep fish i keep water the fish are only there for decoration
Mitchofmedway Mitchofmedway
  • Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • Joined: 7/8/2009 17:11
  • From Kent
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 45
  • Posted on: 24/3/2010 18:19
Re: Pond question #6
Just build you fish stock up slowly. Most of my local suppliers are still closed for pond fish and plants.

Good luck
Resized Image
Otter Otter
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Joined: 30/10/2007 6:54
  • From United States
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 100
  • Posted on: 1/4/2010 16:10
Re: Pond question #7
Yes, the nitrate cycle is the same in a pond as in an aquarium. And just like a tank filter, you can cycle your pond filter with live fish, fish food, bottled ammonia (without additives), or some combination of those options.