CoMan CoMan
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 16/11/2009 21:08
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 9
  • Posted on: 19/11/2009 21:59
Rowaphos or Phosban? #1
Hey all

Just wondered what you guys use for phosphate removal? I've been looking at rowaphos and phosban.

Anyone know whats best, from what I can see phosban is cheaper, but thats not always a good thing?

Thoughts?

CoMan
EagleC EagleC
  • Plants Adviser
  • Plants  Adviser
  • Joined: 28/3/2007 11:01
  • From Hampshire
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 8176
  • Posted on: 19/11/2009 22:04
Re: Rowaphos or Phosban? #2
I use rowaphos, it works. Never tried anything else though

Whatever you use you are best of using it in a fluidised media reactor (aka phosphate reactor/media reactor) to get the best performance out of it. This can be made from a coke bottle, pump, some pipe and a sponge or bought from around ?20 on ebay.
CoMan CoMan
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 16/11/2009 21:08
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 9
  • Posted on: 19/11/2009 22:10
Re: Rowaphos or Phosban? #3
Thanks for the info EagleC...I'll look into the reactor, I take it you got a sump set up and the reactor sits in there somewhere?

I'll be running an orca tl 500, is a reactor still an option for me?

So at the mo Rowaphos 1 Phosban 0
Fizz Fizz
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 12/2/2006 19:19
  • From Hertfordshire
  • Group: Registered Users FK Supporter Deep End
  • Posts: 708
  • Posted on: 19/11/2009 22:48
Re: Rowaphos or Phosban? #4
I use Rowaphos, but I have freshwater tank, don't know if that makes any difference.

Below is a link to a thread where I was asking about Rowaphos and if you scroll down, Howard mentions some other brands of phosphate remover that are supposed to be good.


http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/modules/ ... id=230927#forumpost230927

Hope this helps!
Fizz
CoMan CoMan
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 16/11/2009 21:08
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 9
  • Posted on: 19/11/2009 22:57
Re: Rowaphos or Phosban? #5
Thanks Fizzi thats good reading cheers.

So Rowaphos 2 Phosban 0

Anyone out there heard of phosban?
Violet Violet
  • Tropical Adviser
  • Tropical  Adviser
  • Joined: 22/11/2008 17:42
  • From West Yorkshire
  • Group: FK Supporter Registered Users Caresheets Advisers Deep End
  • Posts: 7209
  • Posted on: 20/11/2009 19:51
Re: Rowaphos or Phosban? #6
Normally I use rowaphos (freshwater tank). Great product. When the LFS ran out one time I bought phosban as no other choice. On contact with the water though it created quite a dusty affect but only temporarily but for a day or two. The worst thing though was the filter on cleaning, lots of bright orange muck despite sandwiching it between 2 layers of filter wool in a pop sock. It did work, but I switched back to rowaphos once I'd used it all up. Far cleaner in the tank. Think that may be 3:0
Please fill in your personal profile if you are posti
CoMan CoMan
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 16/11/2009 21:08
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 9
  • Posted on: 20/11/2009 21:11
Re: Rowaphos or Phosban? #7
Violet, out of interest did you rinse the phosban before putting it in?

Its not looking good for phosban all the same.

From what I gather from reading up on other sites too, is that phosban does the same job as rowaphos and is loads cheaper, but rowaphos is just a better product to work with.

Cheers all think I'll try them both and give you my thoughts in a few months
bones bones
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 25/3/2009 19:39
  • From Surrey
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 213
  • Posted on: 20/11/2009 21:28
Re: Rowaphos or Phosban? #8
i use rowaphos and i have only just installed a reactor for it and i must say i can see a huge improvement in my tank.
i did use it in the fiter in a bag in my other tank but wasnt as good as using the reactor,
i recomend a phosphate reactor.....
Violet Violet
  • Tropical Adviser
  • Tropical  Adviser
  • Joined: 22/11/2008 17:42
  • From West Yorkshire
  • Group: FK Supporter Registered Users Caresheets Advisers Deep End
  • Posts: 7209
  • Posted on: 20/11/2009 21:35
Re: Rowaphos or Phosban? #9
I can't remember if I rinsed it or not TBH. It was about a year ago or so, but I always follow the instructions on the tub if that helps (the empty tub got thrown out a long time ago)

Some you pre-rinse some you don't I know. Perhaps the website will confirm?? Apologies, not much help.
Please fill in your personal profile if you are posti
Goldnugget Goldnugget
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 10/10/2007 16:50
  • From West Yorkshire
  • Group: Registered Users FK Supporter
  • Posts: 4182
  • Posted on: 21/11/2009 13:19
Re: Rowaphos or Phosban? #10
I believe Phosban is best used in reactors. Though I'm sure a user of this product will be able to confirm.

As for Rowaphos, don't rinse before using.
Original Image
[url=http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/articles_51/fishless-cycling-a