(1) 2 3 »
BigKev BigKev
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Joined: 31/8/2007 9:17
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 108
  • Posted on: 3/9/2009 12:14
New pond syndrome! #1
After installing a new filter system a few weeks ago, I thought I'd better do a water quality test. I've been using bio start type additives by the way.

Anyway, the Nitrite levels were dangerously high so I quickly carried out a 90% water change with treated water and tested again. Still dangerously high. The colour is off the scale. Very dark indeed.

Should I do another water change or just wait for the bacteria to establish?

I tested my tap water too and that gives a result of 0.1 mg/l
Dazzler83 Dazzler83
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 6/1/2009 13:15
  • From Gloucestershire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 758
  • Posted on: 3/9/2009 15:52
Re: New pond syndrome! #2
what test kit are you using?? after a 90% water change and its still of the chart you sure your doing everything rite?
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem.
bottomfeeder bottomfeeder
  • Not too shy to talk
  • Not too shy to talk
  • Joined: 13/6/2007 17:27
  • From Oxfordshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 24
  • Posted on: 3/9/2009 16:27
Re: New pond syndrome! #3
How big is your pond?
peediepixie peediepixie
  • Coldwater Moderator
  • Coldwater Moderator
  • Joined: 2/10/2005 17:06
  • From Orkney
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 2452
  • Posted on: 3/9/2009 17:24
Re: New pond syndrome! #4
Hi, just to get it straight in my head... is this a new pond or just a new filter? With fish? It's just been set up for a few weeks? You are just cycling the pond at the -moment? Sorry for so many questions If you could put some info on your profile it would be handy for reference
Resized Image
BigKev BigKev
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Joined: 31/8/2007 9:17
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 108
  • Posted on: 3/9/2009 19:14
Re: New pond syndrome! #5
It's an established pond with a new filter.

I done another water change today and it is now acceptable. I dread to think what the reading was at first.

For info:
The pond is 1200 litres, with fish and I'm now using a Blagdon Minipond 6000 filter with a Hozelock 2000 pump.

I was originally using one of the in pond all-in-one filters but it wasn't really up to the job. Constant cleaning. If I was upgrading an external filter, I would have swapped the bio media over, but obviously didn't have that option.
Otter Otter
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Joined: 30/10/2007 6:54
  • From United States
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 100
  • Posted on: 4/9/2009 19:36
Re: New pond syndrome! #6
I think you're doing the right thing. Monitor the water quality carefully, and do a partial water change if anything gets too high. Aim to reduce the high reading to maybe half of what you consider acceptable. You want to keep the reading somewhat high to feed the bacteria, but not so high that it poisons your fish.

I've never used it, but some zeolite might help you keep the water quality up while your bacteria are catching up with the load.

In hindsight, it might have been a good idea to cycle the new media with ammonia before installing the filter. If you happen to own a time machine, go back and do that. Otherwise, just keep checking the water until the new filter kicks in.
BigKev BigKev
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Joined: 31/8/2007 9:17
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 108
  • Posted on: 6/9/2009 10:01
Re: New pond syndrome! #7
The Nitrite is climbing again, quite quickly.

I'll do another water change today about 50%.

I think I'll also get some quick test strips as a double check.
BigKev BigKev
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Joined: 31/8/2007 9:17
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 108
  • Posted on: 6/9/2009 13:50
Re: New pond syndrome! #8
Got some quick test strips and both Nitrate and Nitrate are shown as trace.

Hmmm.
Otter Otter
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Joined: 30/10/2007 6:54
  • From United States
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 100
  • Posted on: 6/9/2009 14:32
Re: New pond syndrome! #9
Those test strips can be wildly inaccurate. What's the other test you're using?
BigKev BigKev
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • Joined: 31/8/2007 9:17
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 108
  • Posted on: 6/9/2009 15:59
Re: New pond syndrome! #10
I've been using Interpet Nitrite test.

Tablet into a test tube and shake. One set were a year or so old so could be out-of-date. I got some new ones and they also gave a high reading.

I'm not sure what to trust.