stephanio stephanio
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 1/9/2008 19:50
Newbie #1
Hello Everyone! my name is ste

I am new to marine tanks so to begin with i doubt i'll be the font of all knowledge however, i will try to help where possible. I set up the Orca 450 beginner tank 4 weeks ago and found this site when searching for info. Since buying tank i have read many reviews good and bad but i am quite happy with it for starters.

Tank Contents;

Live sand
Live Rock 70kg
2 Peppermint Shrimps
2 Big Hermits
3 Small Hermits
1 Turbo
2 Clowns
Lots of Bubbles
Some Plastic Corals
Free - Insects which i think have been eaten
Free - Approx 5 small bristle worms
Free - Little white midgies that have just appeared (don't know what they are yet)

I have been testing the water frequently for Salinity, temperature, PH, Nitrite, Nitrate and Amonia levels.

I have read that the readings will be a bit up and down for a new tank set up and so have added some Buffer to increase the PH (still not quite there) and added ammo lock to free toxins.

"didn't realise that fish keeping was so exhausting but it gives me and the family lots of joy so onwards and upwards"

I am going to stop here now or i could go on all night.

Anyway! Hi again to all and your help whenever possible will be much appreciated.

Ste
Leggy Leggy
  • Marine Adviser
  • Marine  Adviser
  • From Surrey
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 1/9/2008 21:35
Re: Newbie #2
Sorry Ste,
Couldnt help but laugh about the 70kg of live rock in your Orca - had a picture of very crowded shrimps and snails all huddled together lol.
Do you mean 7kg ???
stephanio stephanio
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • From -
  • Posted on: 1/9/2008 21:46
Re: Newbie #3
Leggy

Just logged back on and yes that is very funny! 7KG sounds good.

Ste
Leggy Leggy
  • Marine Adviser
  • Marine  Adviser
  • From Surrey
  • Posted on: 1/9/2008 22:08
Re: Newbie #4