(1) 2 3 »
iddo39 iddo39
  • Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • Joined: 3/5/2008 11:47
  • From Cheshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 57
  • Posted on: 10/5/2008 9:12
Putting gold fish from tank to pond. How do I do it safely? #1
I have 4 goldfish that have outgrown their 60 litre tank. I have a friend with an established and filtered pond that has no fish at all in it. Is this a good idea to put my fish into the pond? If so, how and when do I do it? They are all single-tailed goldifish and range from about 6 to 8" long
Thanks
Gill
Fishy-Fishy Fishy-Fishy
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Joined: 30/8/2004 11:51
  • From -
  • Group: FK Supporter Advisers Moderators Registered Users Deep End
  • Posts: 9604
  • Posted on: 10/5/2008 9:32
Re: Putting gold fish from tank to pond. How do I do it safely? #2
How big is the pond? Do you know the depth?
iddo39 iddo39
  • Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • Joined: 3/5/2008 11:47
  • From Cheshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 57
  • Posted on: 10/5/2008 9:35
Re: Putting gold fish from tank to pond. How do I do it safely? #3
It's a bit of an "arty" shape but roughly 4 feet by 2 feet and about 18" deep in middle. Depth is less at sides.
The alternative is that I have a natural pond in my own garden. This one is 8 foot by 3 foot and a good 3 feet deep. However, it has no fish and no filtration added. Water is clear, lots of plants/lilies and frogs galore . Not sure if fish can be put into a pond like this though.
Fishy-Fishy Fishy-Fishy
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Joined: 30/8/2004 11:51
  • From -
  • Group: FK Supporter Advisers Moderators Registered Users Deep End
  • Posts: 9604
  • Posted on: 10/5/2008 9:44
Re: Putting gold fish from tank to pond. How do I do it safely? #4
They do need a filter but your mate's pond is a bit on the shallow side. They need a deep pond to shelter from the cold in winter. Yours would be ideal if it had a filter.
iddo39 iddo39
  • Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • Joined: 3/5/2008 11:47
  • From Cheshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 57
  • Posted on: 10/5/2008 9:50
Re: Putting gold fish from tank to pond. How do I do it safely? #5
If i went for my pond, how difficult is it to install a filter and how expensive?
Fishy-Fishy Fishy-Fishy
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Joined: 30/8/2004 11:51
  • From -
  • Group: FK Supporter Advisers Moderators Registered Users Deep End
  • Posts: 9604
  • Posted on: 10/5/2008 9:56
Re: Putting gold fish from tank to pond. How do I do it safely? #6
Well a filter would be cheaper than setting up a tank big enough, that's for sure I'm not sure on the mechanics, I'm pretty sure you would need a pump as well. Fredrick More is your man, he knows loads about ponds. I'm sure he'll be around later.
Goldy Goldy
  • Forum Manager
  • Forum Manager
  • Joined: 10/3/2004 21:05
  • From Cheshire
  • Group: Moderators Caresheets Image Admin Registered Users Advisers
  • Posts: 16769
  • Posted on: 10/5/2008 10:36
Re: Putting gold fish from tank to pond. How do I do it safely? #7
Quote:

iddo39 wrote:
It's a bit of an "arty" shape but roughly 4 feet by 2 feet and about 18" deep in middle. Depth is less at sides.
The alternative is that I have a natural pond in my own garden. This one is 8 foot by 3 foot and a good 3 feet deep. However, it has no fish and no filtration added. Water is clear, lots of plants/lilies and frogs galore . Not sure if fish can be put into a pond like this though.


I would be more inclined to go with your own pond as it is a lot bigger than your friends, you can keep a natural pond with fish but having a filter assures you keep the water safe, as fishy suggested fredrick-moor is best to advise on this
fredrick_more fredrick_more
  • Pond Moderator
  • Pond Moderator
  • Joined: 4/3/2005 17:50
  • From Nottinghamshire
  • Group: Registered Users Caresheets FK Supporter
  • Posts: 3171
  • Posted on: 10/5/2008 18:48
Re: Putting gold fish from tank to pond. How do I do it safely? #8
Quote:

Fredrick More is your man, he knows loads about ponds. I'm sure he'll be around later.






Sorry, mean working, for a change, today

In terms of moving them ascross, you would be fine just floating them in a bag for 30 mins and then letting them go.

For filters, price wise, about 150-300 depending on how decent one you wanted. But as Goldy said you dont have to, just means that you couldnt have as many fish in the pond.
iddo39 iddo39
  • Quite a regular
  • Quite a regular
  • Joined: 3/5/2008 11:47
  • From Cheshire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 57
  • Posted on: 11/5/2008 10:46
Re: Putting gold fish from tank to pond. How do I do it safely? #9
Great. Would ideally like them in our own pond. Do we still needto feed them. If so, how often?
Goldy Goldy
  • Forum Manager
  • Forum Manager
  • Joined: 10/3/2004 21:05
  • From Cheshire
  • Group: Moderators Caresheets Image Admin Registered Users Advisers
  • Posts: 16769
  • Posted on: 11/5/2008 11:43
Re: Putting gold fish from tank to pond. How do I do it safely? #10
Oh yes you have to feed them

some reading for you, better than me trying to explain

http://www.pond-doctor.co.uk/longgoldfishcarefeeding.html