(1) 2 »
jclaire jclaire
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 16/9/2007 19:10
Help angel fish!! #1
I have recently purchased 3 angel fish and two neons for my 40 litre tank as advised by my local aquatic retailer. But one of the angel fish is very aggresive , he attacks the two angel fish and has killed the two neons!!!!!This is all within the space of two days ....I am a beginner and do not know what to do! Should I go back to the retailer and ask him to swap the angel fish for something a bit smaller and more manageable>?
Regards Claire
Coralline Coralline
  • Marine Adviser
  • Marine  Adviser
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Advisers Registered Users
  • Posted on: 16/9/2007 19:25
Re: Help angel fish!! #2
in all honesty yes you should take the angel fish back, and get a full refund.. and if there are any other shops around, leave and go there. they should not have recommended two angelfish and two neons for a 40 litre tank, that is a very poor recommendation! angelfish will quite happily eat neons, they do in the wild, so in a tank neons do not have much of a chance! two angelfish will also outgrow a 40 litre tank they can get to the size of a small plate, so i would avoid those with your tank, and neons should not be kept in two's either, minimum of 6, but 10 is better. small shoaling fish are ideal fish for a tank your size, if you have it planted too, it can look very impressive with a shoal of pretty fish, and some corydoras catfish would be nice on the bottom, they like to be in small groups too.