john020666 john020666
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 1/6/2007 0:10
Is my Anenome dead? #1
Hi All, i m new to marines but kepts tropical for many years, i have my tank established and running relatively well, on of the anenomes i have has just shrunk and curled up, it seems like some kind of 'slimy stuff' has secreted from the mouth it hasnt moved for half the day now, is it dead, how would i know? might sound silly but i am a novice at the moment, i have attached a pic
thanks in advance guys

Attach file:

jpg  (47.35 KB)
4409_465f55fc250eb.jpg 512X480 px
Coralline Coralline
  • Marine Adviser
  • Marine  Adviser
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Advisers Registered Users
  • Posted on: 1/6/2007 9:37
Re: Is my Anenome dead? #2
hiya, welcome to the forum!

can you be a bit more specific about your water levels, salinity, pH, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate readings would be useful and any others you may have.
how long has this tank been running now and how long have you had the anemones? can you give us a list of all inhabitants, and i dont suppose you can tell us what species of anemone it is? as it looks very white on the picture which could indicate that it has lost its zooanthellae (the algae that live in its tissues)... but will wait for your water readings before guessing whats going on.
Gill

Resized Image

[url=http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/articles_51/fishless-cycling-article.htm] 'CLICK ME' - 'Fishless Cycling' information - how to prepare your new t...
john020666 john020666
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 1/6/2007 19:37
Re: Is my Anenome dead? #3
Hi thanks for the reply,
I dont know the name of the anenome, when it seemed alive it was bright white even on the underside.