systemattic systemattic
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 5/6/2004 18:03
Hard Water #1
Hi Folks...!

I'm a complete Newbie... and need some Advice...

I've got a tank setup and have added a small fantail...

(The tank was setup for a two weeks with a comet in it and then empty for 3 days before I added the fantail....)

I did a dip with my test sticks and everything "seems" fine...

[ The pH is 7.2~7.4 .. is this ok for a fantail...? ]

But the "General Hardness" of the water is high... near or over 16 degrees dH ( er.. whatever that means)

Is this a serious problem for my fantail....?

I've been looking around for some general informaiton on the requirement of fantails... ideal pH, etc... Does anyone know a good online source of info...?

Many Thanks in Advance...

Goldy Goldy
  • Forum Manager
  • Forum Manager
  • From Cheshire
  • Group: Registered Users Image Admin Caresheets Moderators Advisers
  • Posted on: 5/6/2004 18:17
Re: Hard Water #2
Hello there And welcome.
I wouldn't worry to much about the water hardness but you could find out what it was were you bought the fish from and see if there is much difference, your ph is fine they like a ph between 6.8-7.5 the main things to concentrate on are Ammonia, nitrite and nitrate and you say they are fine, what are your readings ?
Quote:
systemattic wrote
I've been looking around for some general informaiton on the requirement of fantails... ideal pH, etc... Does anyone know a good online source of info...?

yes here
Pixie Pixie
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • From Bedfordshire
  • Posted on: 5/6/2004 19:50
Re: Hard Water #3