(1) 2 »
MarineAqua5 MarineAqua5
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 18/11/2006 20:37
  • From London
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 12
  • Posted on: 23/11/2006 22:35
AquaPlus by Nutrafin #1
Here in london i cant get hold of RO water. My mum wont get a RO unit. And im not lugging gallons and gallons of water on the bus for miles. My last option is to add some aquaplus to my tap water. It says it will nutralise heavy metals and get rid of chlorine and chlorimine (sp). Is this theasable (will it work).
Thanks
sean
TheDragonLord TheDragonLord
  • Pond Adviser
  • Pond  Adviser
  • Joined: 19/10/2004 19:37
  • From West Midlands
  • Group: Registered Users Advisers Deep End
  • Posts: 3753
  • Posted on: 23/11/2006 22:42
Re: AquaPlus by Nutrafin #2
not if your tap water has high nitrates (London tap water is very high in them if i remember correctly) but yes it would have been fine for an FO system
There are no experts, mearly beginners who know more than others.

Support your LFS, online sites won't stay open 5 mins extra for you
MarineAqua5 MarineAqua5
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 18/11/2006 20:37
  • From London
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 12
  • Posted on: 23/11/2006 23:10
Re: AquaPlus by Nutrafin #3
So you mean if i want a FOWLR i can or cant use my tap water? sorry
TheDragonLord TheDragonLord
  • Pond Adviser
  • Pond  Adviser
  • Joined: 19/10/2004 19:37
  • From West Midlands
  • Group: Registered Users Advisers Deep End
  • Posts: 3753
  • Posted on: 23/11/2006 23:17
Re: AquaPlus by Nutrafin #4
you can't
the live rock has inverts in it so you cant use tap water
There are no experts, mearly beginners who know more than others.

Support your LFS, online sites won't stay open 5 mins extra for you
adamcrouch adamcrouch
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 7/11/2006 10:05
  • From Cheshire
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 1015
  • Posted on: 24/11/2006 13:44
Re: AquaPlus by Nutrafin #5
I've used tesco bottles water @ 17p for a 2 litre bottle and its been alright for me so far. Goin to start to use RO water now though.
Fishy-Fishy Fishy-Fishy
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Joined: 30/8/2004 12:51
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Moderators Advisers FK Supporter Deep End
  • Posts: 9604
  • Posted on: 24/11/2006 13:45
Re: AquaPlus by Nutrafin #6
Have you checked to see if there's anyone that will deliver RO to your house?
MarineAqua5 MarineAqua5
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 18/11/2006 20:37
  • From London
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 12
  • Posted on: 24/11/2006 16:02
Re: AquaPlus by Nutrafin #7
i Will have a look, also the tesco water is it pure and do you have to bring/buy bottels?
Coralline Coralline
  • Marine Adviser
  • Marine  Adviser
  • Joined: 8/6/2005 16:43
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Advisers Registered Users
  • Posts: 5733
  • Posted on: 24/11/2006 16:06
Re: AquaPlus by Nutrafin #8
tesco water is just mineral water, so no not pure. wouldnt recommend using it really. would say salted RO water only.
Gill

Resized Image

[url=http://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/articles_51/fishless-cycling-article.htm] 'CLICK ME' - 'Fishless Cycling' information - how to prepare your new t...
Fishy-Fishy Fishy-Fishy
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Joined: 30/8/2004 12:51
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Moderators Advisers FK Supporter Deep End
  • Posts: 9604
  • Posted on: 24/11/2006 16:35
Re: AquaPlus by Nutrafin #9
This company delivers RO- http://www.pureh2o.co.uk/homeframe.html
voycey voycey
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 29/8/2005 12:07
  • From West Midlands
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posts: 843
  • Posted on: 27/11/2006 17:08
Re: AquaPlus by Nutrafin #10
I wouldnt recommend it for long term use - i havent had any problems so far with any of my corals but this time around I have done 50/50.

if the tap water conditioner says it will eliminate heavy metals - you need to make sure it includes copper.

Tesco does filtered water - which is basically mass produced RO water - make sure its not mineral water (and not fizzy ;)).

if you bought an RO unit you can buy adapters that allow it to be fitted onto existing feeds (similar to the one your washing machine fits onto) this wouldnt require any plumbing.

Just hassle your mom:)