stuey stuey
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • From Lancashire
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 6/3/2004 22:05
brown algae #1
Hi
I set up a cold water tank over christmas and at the moment only have four fish in it.The tank is 36" x 18" x 18".Everything has been ok up untill the last three weeks or so when all of a sudden the rocks and glass are developing a brown stain which i am assuming to be algae. The only thing i can link it to is the filter stopped working for approx one day causing the water to become quite cloudy but i have soted out the problem. the only other thing i can think of is i am using aquarium sand which i have never used before having always used gravel in my tropical tank.I cleaned the rocks off last week but it has reappeared quite rapidly.
i would greatly appreciated any help/advice on this problem

stuart
marcshedden marcshedden
  • From Avon
  • Group: Registered Users Caresheets Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 7/3/2004 18:52
Re: brown algae #2
Hi,

Algae blooms are usually linked to Nitrate and Phosphate levels in the water, so test for these to start with - if they are high, a few substantial (around 30%) water changes are needed along with cutting down on feeding for a while.
Once you have these down to an acceptable level, regular water changes are required to keep them low. Also, growing live plants in the tank will outcompete the algae for nutrients.
Having said that, you will be lucky to completely eradicate the algae - it is the bane of most aquarists' lives!

Good Luck,
Marc
stuey stuey
  • Just can't stay away
  • Just can't stay away
  • From Lancashire
  • Posted on: 18/3/2004 17:42
Re: brown algae #3
Hi Marc