Anonymous  
Platy fry #1
Hi,I'm after some advice on my tank situation...i only have a 64 litre tank as im new to fish keeping, i set the tank up approx a month ago & just last week started to stock fish
I only got 6 red platys only to find literally the next morning one of them had fry which was approx 30ish!
Back to the fish shop to buy a maternity net & they are all doing well!
That all said,I'm worrying about the bigger picture & don't know what to do after 6 weeks when they can be released into the tank as i believe the tank will be overstocked,also it is starting to affect the levels of ammonia & nitrite & the water is slightly misty,i have a 'eheim pickup 160' filter system in the tank so ample for the size
I think I'm doing everything right as in removing uneaten food & waste & only feeding every other day but am unsure of the next move i need to make,so thought I'd ask the experts
Please help!
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Caresheets Moderators FK Supporter Registered Users Image Admin Advisers
  • Posted on: 29/1 11:39
Re: Platy fry #2
Hi

Firstly, you say you set the tank up a month ago. What did you do in that time to cycle the tank?
Anonymous  
Re: Platy fry #3
I set it all up & ran it empty apart from the obvious sand,plants & ornaments & added denitrol bacteria daily
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Caresheets Moderators FK Supporter Registered Users Image Admin Advisers
  • Posted on: 29/1 13:23
Re: Platy fry #4