Ukulelelady Ukulelelady
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 15/11 17:45
40 litre tank advice #1
Hello!
I’m completely new to this, and have been busy recently setting up a tropical fish tank which will be a birthday gift for my daughter. There was much more to learn than I'd realised! But think I’m doing ok so far.
I bought a 40L tank, it has live plants and mixed natural gravel, and I will add a little piece of bogwood (once it finally sinks!!)
Have been doing a fishless cycle for two weeks now, added some of the API bacteria starter stuff and have tested with the test strips a couple of times, all seems well with the PH and now nitrites etc are 0 as they should be. I’ve also got the slightly more complicated looking liquid test sets and will check tonight the ammonia levels as they’re not included on the test strips. All being well I’m hoping to start adding fish in the next few days.
I’ve been reading a lot and trying to choose suitable fish for a 40l tank, what the fish like and suitable tank mates. I’m thinking to stock it with something like this - what do you all think?
5-6 harlequin (or possibly chilli) Rasboras
3 female dwarf Gouramis
4 Oto catfish
A couple of shrimp

I read that you can have 2 Rasboras per gallon, but please let me know if you think this list is overstocking? I would have liked Cory cats but believe they strongly prefer sand so thinking Oto’s instead..I thought I could just have one or two but apparently they get lonely.
I’d have liked celestial pearl danios as they’re beautiful BUT they might not get on with the dwarf Gouramis, which I fell in love with in the local aquarium, so have gone for rasboras instead.