rajdeepdas2001 rajdeepdas2001
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 29/10 19:44
White cloud minnow - showing a bulged belly #1
I am new to the hobby and have 3 white cloud minnows in a 28L coldwater tank. The tank was cycled before keeping the fish. I do water tests almost every other day now, and there is no ammonia or Nitrite in the tank but one of the 3 minnows are showing some abnormalities. Please refer to the pictures attached. The belly is bulged with something sticking out of it from behind. This has been the case for the last 7-8 days. To be honest this particular fish had a bloated tummy ever since I bought it, but it has gotten worse now.

I would highly appreciate some help here, as I dont have any experience about the same.
What do you think is there problem here and what can I do to help the fish?

Resized Image

Resized Image
fcmf fcmf
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership Advisers
  • Posted on: 29/10 23:20
Re: White cloud minnow - showing a bulged belly #2
The most likely explanation is that the fish is constipated, as evidenced in the photo by the poo sitting out from its vent but not yet dropped off.
Check out https://www.fishkeeping.co.uk/modules/ ... esheet.php?caresheetID=73 and https://www.seriouslyfish.com/species/tanichthys-albonubes/ for:
* an appropriate diet (eg include peas with shell removed and chopped into tiny morsels plus frozen/live foods - and try to feed little and often rather than one large meal daily) which should help;
* other aspects of care including minimum tank size to ensure that the fish gets appropriate exercise, etc.
If a more varied diet doesn't work after a fortnight or so, or if the situation gets worse in the meantime or other symptoms develop, do let us know - and we'll help further.
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 30/10 13:01
Re: White cloud minnow - showing a bulged belly #3