Jackieruth Jackieruth
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 22/10 15:49
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 2
  • Posted on: 22/10 16:16
Is my tank cycled? #1
Hi, I’m hoping someone can help. I’ve set up a new 37l tropical freshwater tank and have been doing a Fishless cycle with ammonia. I’ve got a bigger tank but needed another one because my platies keep having babies! Eventually I’m going to put the male in the new tank with some of the babies as it’s getting a bit busy in the main tank! Hopefully I will be able to rehome the babies I don’t want. I am on day 28 of my Fishless cycle. On day 21 I did a 50% water change after readings of 80ppm nitrates, 0ppm nitrites, 2ppm ammonia. I added 3ml of ammonia which read 4ppm. Since then my nitrites have been 0ppm, nitrates have been 40 ppm and ammonia has reduced slowly and is now 0.25 ppm. I’m just confused because I have read that when the cycle is done and I add ammonia. the ammonia and nitrite should be 0ppm after a day but another article said it would take a few days. It’s been a week so not sure whether it’s cycled. Should I do another water change and add some ammonia? Thanks for any advice 😀
fcmf fcmf
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • Joined: 17/10/2014 12:20
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership Advisers
  • Posts: 886
  • Posted on: 22/10 16:56
Re: Is my tank cycled? #2
It sounds as though you're *almost* there, but not quite, as the ammonia hasn't reached 0 yet. (What test kit are you using?)

As I understand/recall it, you should test 24 hours after adding 3ppm, and dose 3ppm if either is still above 0 (but ammonia below 0.25 and nitrite below 1.0).

Once *both* ammonia and nitrite are at 0 after 24 hours of the last 3ppm dose of ammonia, the cycle has finished. At that stage, do a very large water change to remove the nitrate.

For the time that you can't get to the LFS to get fish, the cycle can be maintained by adding 1ppm every few days to keep the beneficial bacteria alive.
Jackieruth Jackieruth
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 22/10 15:49
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 2
  • Posted on: 23/10 0:04
Re: Is my tank cycled? #3
Thanks for the advice. I’m using the API master testing kit. Hopefully it won’t be much longer!
Tknoxx Tknoxx
  • Home away from home
  • Home away from home
  • Joined: 26/12/2011 1:40
  • From Isle of Lewis
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership Deep End
  • Posts: 861
  • Posted on: 24/10 8:02
Re: Is my tank cycled? #4
You can give your filter a wee boost using a little part of your filter sponge from your main tank! It sounds like you are almost there though!