Louis Louis
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 6/10 14:50
My Pleco died and I don’t know why #1
Hello,

I am new to the Fishkeeping hobby however am aware of how much effort and research goes into keeping and maintaining a happy and healthy tank hence I have tried to make sure I know as much about the fish I purchase their tank conditions so that I can provide the best life and care for them.

A few months ago I bought a pleco and some tetras and placed them into a quarantine tank before adding them to my main, display tank which houses one single betta. I added the tetras in I mistakenly caught them and netted them individually and placed them into the tank, to which the betta then chased them and they all died with 6-7 hours later, my guess is due to shock and/or stress. So with my pleco, which I saw as my prize possession, I made sure to acclimate it properly following the steps I read on a website. Temperature acclimating it and then ph acclimating it. However it also did not survive the night, moreover the betta showed no signs of aggression towards the pleco instead it would swim away whenever the pleco moved so I can’t see stress from the betta being a cause of death. Whilst the ph level of my display tank is between 6.5-7.0 (which I know is low for a pleco) the quarantine tank was at 6.5 when I moved the pleco and he had been living happily and showing no signs of distress or illness for months in that tank and the nitrate, nitrite and ammonia levels were all equal in both tanks (actually there had been an unusual and bizarre ammonia spike in my quarantine tank (despite showing positive nitrate readings) so if anything the display tank was healthier). So my question is, what could have caused my pleco to die as I believe my conditions would be hospitable for my pleco?