Arlia Arlia
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 25/7 14:10
Unknown cause of death #1
Hello all,

I have recently started keeping tropical fish and my tank has been up and running for 6 weeks now. I have 6 neon tetras and 7 guppies in a 125 litre tank.

Yesterday all of my fish were lively and swimming around, but when I came down this morning one of my guppies was sitting as the bottom of tank, only moving occasionally. I only have male guppies in my tank so knew it couldn’t be any pregnancy related issues. I did notice a red mark by its gill (see pictures). I went out for about 3 hours came home and the guppy had died. I’m not sure what it’s cause of death was. I was thinking an injury sustained from fighting or something. However, as I am new to this I wanted to make sure that it wasn’t caused by a disease. Please could you guys let me know what you think has happened? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry for the essay!

Thanks,
Lisa

Attach file:

jpeg  23316_5f1c2f48360af.jpeg (1,410.04 KB)
23316_5f1c2f48360af.jpeg 4032X3024 px
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Caresheets Moderators FK Supporter Registered Users Image Admin Advisers
  • Posted on: 25/7 15:16
Re: Unknown cause of death #2
Hi

Ws the tank cycled before you added any fish and if so how?
What are your test results showing for ammonia and nitrite?
Arlia Arlia
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 25/7 15:31
Re: Unknown cause of death #3
Thanks for getting back to me. I had the tank running for 2 weeks then added 6 neon tetras. I took a water sample to pets at home (where I’ve bought all of my fish), and they tested the water and the ammonia and nitrate levels were negligible. They then suggested adding 7 guppies to build up the ammonia levels. That was 2 weeks ago.

I tested all the ammonia, nitrate and nitrite levels this morning and they were all low.