Yanyan Yanyan
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 12/2 10:52
Ammonia and nitrate problems #1
Hiya
I'm a newbie fish owner, having got a Fluval roma 125 with the u3 filter system over xmas. I set it up on 6th Jan with just plants, filter and air bubble machine, then added 6 neon tetras and a male gourami on 14th, 3 dwarf female gouramis and 3 mollies on 22nd, 2 swordtails on 23rd, and 3 albino corydoras plus a shrimp on 8th Feb, to try and help with ongoing issues! I now know I added the fish too fast at the start, relying on the pet shop staff for advice 🙄

I was advised by the pet shop on 26th Jan to use antibiotics as it seemed like I'd bought infected dwarf gouramis on 22nd, (one had to be put down a week after purchase, after hiding for days, then gasping at top of tank, another has what they said looked like a tumor) so added Interpret anti internal bacteria to the tank on 26th and 30th Jan as per instructions.