Bricorn Bricorn
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 16/12/2019 10:25
My filter is eating as much food as my fish! #1
180L tank, corner wet/dry filter.

I'm feeding mainly Tetra Bits (slow sinking), which my fish seem to enjoy and are thriving on.
But a lot ends up in the filter.
I could turn it off for a few minutes while they eat, but I'm not keen - what if I forget to turn it back on!

So, are there any feeding tricks or gadgets to help with this?

Thanks
fcmf fcmf
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership Advisers
  • Posted on: 16/12/2019 12:29
Re: My filter is eating as much food as my fish! #2
A fish grazing pod feeder might do the trick - but I have no personal experience of one and don't know whether it would be suitable for that particular type of food.
Bricorn Bricorn
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 16/12/2019 12:54
Re: My filter is eating as much food as my fish! #3
Quote:

fcmf wrote:
A fish grazing pod feeder might do the trick - but I have no personal experience of one and don't know whether it would be suitable for that particular type of food.

That might do, I've got some of those floating cone feeders for bloodworms (it was double the single price to buy 8!), I'll drill larger holes in one and see what happens. Thanks.
Bricorn Bricorn
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 17/12/2019 3:24
Re: My filter is eating as much food as my fish! #4
Well, that didn't work, food gets trapped in there and goes yucky overnight.

Still looking for ideas.

Thanks
Bricorn Bricorn
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 21/12/2019 4:39
Re: My filter is eating as much food as my fish! #5
If anyone's interested, I ended up getting this;
https://www.lazada.co.th/products/smar ... 309850586-s549136939.html Roughly £6 - I'm not in the UK, I escaped.