(1) 2 3 »
Candle321 Candle321
  • Not too shy to talk
  • Not too shy to talk
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 12/9 18:30
Accidental tank acquisition #1
Hi,

New to the forum, so hello! Total newbies to fish keeping, apart from a couple of inherited goldfish in the pond who we never feed and must be 7 years old at the very least!

Four days ago, by strange means constituting a long story, we found out our neighbours were moving and didn't want to take their fish tank, so planned on leaving it behind, with fish actually in it! So we offered to take it, no questions asked.

We now have an Aqua Marine 900 with four bulbs in working order, whether the UV is effective who knows. Online reasearch has told me this is around the 225 - 250 litre mark, yet to take actual measurements as I can't find my darn tape measure.

It has a UFX + filter, which seems to be working i.e. It is moving water in and out!

Finally it had a water heater fixed to 25c. We did some quick panic initial research and removed this.

The tank inhabitants are three weather loaches, juveniles I think, 4", 3" and 3.5" roughly. Plus six tiny White Cloud Mountain Minnows - new additions? They must only be an inch each, average.

We have made a series of mistakes in the last four days, which I shall now fess up to. After reading up on weather loaches we changed the nasty sharp gravel substrate to aquatic sand, took out the plastic plants and ornaments and replaced with live plants, smooth bog wood and smooth river cobbles.

After more reading I bought some water test strips, realising we had possibly removed a large chunk of the bacteria. Oops.

We had effectively done a 75% water change the day we moved the tank (to reduce the weight, fish still in it, then another 50% water change when we changed the substrate.

I am really embarrassed by some aspects of this as I'm normally really conscientious with the care of our animals; but it felt like a sudden and flustered situation.