Newby2019 Newby2019
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 3/8 21:15
New to the hobby, looking for tank advice #1
Hello,

I am new to fish-keeping and was planning to get a Bio Orb 60 liter. However, I have now decided against that due to what I have read on here.

I am wondering if any of you would mind holding my hand a bit regarding which tank to get, I'm at a total loss.

The fish and invertebrates I plan to get are: White mountain minnows (around 20), 4 Corydoras cat fish, some red cherry shrimp and some snails (not sure of the type). The numbers are based on the pet shop 'fish point' system. I am open to changing the numbers/species if necessary, but definitely want the minnows, some kind of shrimp (hopefully that will breed), snails and a couple of small catfish. I would like to still go for a 60 liter (unless that is really too small). I also plan to plant slow growing live plants.

So, I suppose the advice I need is: best tank type/shape (perhaps links, if that's allowed), lighting (to grow plants), filter, heater (do I need one?), substrate (safe for the catfish, I read that the Bio Orb substrate can hurt them). Also, perhaps some advice regarding the best snail, shrimp and catfish types for the size I plan to get and some ideas regarding the best slow growing live plants.

Thank you, in advance!
Newby2019 Newby2019
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 3/8 23:04
Re: New to the hobby, looking for tank advice #2
Does this look like a good tank for my needs? https://www.petsathome.com/shop/en/pet ... k-64-litre-%28in-store%29
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Moderators Image Admin Caresheets FK Supporter Registered Users Advisers
  • Posted on: 4/8 18:11
Re: New to the hobby, looking for tank advice #3
That tank looks ideal. For the cories you'll need a sand substrate as gravel can damage their barbels when they dig in it.