natalietanya natalietanya
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership
  • Posted on: 25/3/2007 17:18
Major Issue with Filter system!!!! #1
Please please please need urgent help with this!!!

Total newbie so hi and thanks to anyone who replies by the way :)

Anyway!! First time i cleaned out the tank today, everything was running smoothly. Then I ran through all the cleaning instructions for my Elite Stingray 15 filter and everything seemed fine.

I cleaned all the foam pads, the cartridges and the impeller. But thats when it led to major problems.

I opened the cap for the impeller well, slowly took out the impeller and gave it a rinse, put everything back together and put the filter back into the tank. When the filter was switched back on its making this awful rattling noise. and upon inspection, the impeller is rattling around like crazy.

I don't understand whats making all this noise or whats caused the impeller to not sit right, but i cant put it back in the tank, as its making a lot of vibration.

I have a freshwater lobster and 2 guppies in the tank at the moment and I dont want to stress them out.

Please, what on earth can i do?!? i need help urgently, i dont want to leave the tank with no filter

Thanks
brun_newbie brun_newbie
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 25/3/2007 17:24
Re: Major Issue with Filter system!!!! #2
take it apart again and refit the parts is all i can suggest
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 25/3/2007 17:29
Re: Major Issue with Filter system!!!! #3
I have done that so many times already... its still making a rattling noise. i didn't force anything apart when i took it all apart to clean, so nothings broken!

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated
fredrick_more fredrick_more
  • Pond Moderator
  • Pond Moderator
  • From Nottinghamshire
  • Group: Registered Users Caresheets FK Supporter
  • Posted on: 25/3/2007 18:07