Ser420 Ser420
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 6/5/2019 10:18
Where are the nitrites!? - a cycling query #1
I've been trying to do a fishless cycle in my 5 gallon tank, and it's not going too well. I've been keeping the ammonia around 4-5ppm, just using pure ammonia, temp. Is 80°F, filter is cranked to max for optimal oxygenation... I've been at this for around a month now, with no signs of nitrites yet. What am I doing wrong!? Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as I'm fairly new to this.
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Caresheets Moderators FK Supporter Registered Users Image Admin Advisers
  • Posted on: 6/5/2019 10:33
Re: Where are the nitrites!? - a cycling query #2
Has the ammonia level ever fallen and have you had to top it up? Has the level of nitrate increased?
Ser420 Ser420
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Posted on: 6/5/2019 10:51
Re: Where are the nitrites!? - a cycling query #3
Yes, I add a few drops almost every day. I guess I haven't been testing everyday though, only once or twice a week. Every time I check the ammonia, it's about the same, so I've just assumed I was adding the proper amount. Also I haven't been testing nitrates yet, because I thought there wouldn't be any until after the nitrite cycle started.
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Caresheets Moderators FK Supporter Registered Users Image Admin Advisers
  • Posted on: 6/5/2019 11:10
Re: Where are the nitrites!? - a cycling query #4