platynik platynik
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 4/1 18:03
Stuck in cycle with ammonia #1
I’m a newbie and this tank has been running for four months and I’m still seeing ammonia readings and it’s not shifting. I do water changes every two days to bring the levels down.

Any help would be much appreciated.

65ltr
Filter one - interpet CF1
Filter two - fluval U2
4 female platy
A few plants
Two lumps of ocean rock

That’s it.

Have the API liquid test
Ammonia 0.50
PH 7.2
Everything else is 0 and has never moved

I use microbe lift products
Xtreme water conditioner
Special blend after each water change

I have another tank with 2 adult platy and 11 fry of all different ages and have never had any issues. Using the same products.

I’m out of ideas
fcmf fcmf
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • Coldwater Adviser
  • From -
  • Group: Registered Users Basic Membership Advisers
  • Posted on: 5/1 13:17
Re: Stuck in cycle with ammonia #2
Hmmmm - this is a difficult one.

As you're using a dechlorinator which addresses chloramines as well as chlorine, that's good, as otherwise that may have been a possibility accounting for the results.

Your tank may not be cycled yet, especially if you aren't getting any level of nitrates.
What is the nitrates reading of your tap water?
What is your postcode's water hardness level in CaCO3 or German degrees hardness, according to your water/utility website? [Although unlikely, especially with the ocean rock in place, and due to the neutral PH, it's possible that you may have very soft water which can stall a cycle, so worth establishing whether or not this might be the case.]

Is your test kit in date?