widge34 widge34
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 6/12/2018 18:01
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 3
  • Posted on: 6/12/2018 18:31
New tank, and stocking it #1
Hi all.
So I've started up a brand new tank 60L. Its currently running a fishless cycle. The tank has an internal filter and is planted with real plants. Eventually when water is good to go, i will be ready to slowly stock. Im thinking of starting with Platies as my water is slightly hard.
would three be a good number to start with or would two be better? Thanks in advance
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Joined: 6/7/2010 18:26
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Moderators Image Admin Caresheets FK Supporter Registered Users Advisers
  • Posts: 12842
  • Posted on: 7/12/2018 11:36
Re: New tank, and stocking it #2
Hi

What level of ammonia are you using to cycle? If it's 3ppm or more you can easily add 3 platies once the cycle is done.
widge34 widge34
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 6/12/2018 18:01
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 3
  • Posted on: 7/12/2018 13:04
Re: New tank, and stocking it #3
Hi
I’m not using liquid ammonia. I’m just dropping a little fish food in tank every few days. There is signs of ammonia in water, but not high at the moment. I know it had to peak before it gets better. Tank has only been going for just under a week.
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Joined: 6/7/2010 18:26
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Moderators Image Admin Caresheets FK Supporter Registered Users Advisers
  • Posts: 12842
  • Posted on: 7/12/2018 18:25
Re: New tank, and stocking it #4
To cycle the tank effectively you need a constant ammonia level of 3ppm or more. This is virtually impossible to achieve with fish food as you can't dose and top up accurately or immediately it falls, which are both essential. Fish food is designed to resist decay so is not ideal as it takes time to break down and you need a huge amount to produce enough ammonia to be meaningful. I strongly recommend switching to liquid ammonia.
widge34 widge34
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Joined: 6/12/2018 18:01
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posts: 3
  • Posted on: 7/12/2018 19:39
Re: New tank, and stocking it #5
Ok. Thanks for the advice.
I’ve added api quick start today with living bacteria. Should I still add ammonia?
Fishlady Fishlady
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Tropical Moderator
  • Joined: 6/7/2010 18:26
  • From Worcestershire
  • Group: Moderators Image Admin Caresheets FK Supporter Registered Users Advisers
  • Posts: 12842
  • Posted on: 7/12/2018 22:21
Re: New tank, and stocking it #6
Yes - the bacteria need ammonia to feed on. If none is added they will just die.