Antheridium94 Antheridium94
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 1/11 22:41
New tank pH problems whilst fishless cycling #1
Hello,
I was wondering if anyone would be able to offer some advice:

I am sorry for the lengthy post and questions in advance, but I am new to the hobby and want to get things correct and safe before thinking about adding any fish.

I recently set up my first aquarium, a fluval roma 240L (Currently holding 205L due to substrate, plants and decor) with the intention of creating a freshwater tropical community. Furthermore, my substrate is inert and resin coated, the plants are artificial and I do not currently have any live rock or wood in there that would affect test readings.

I am also currently undergoing a fishless cycle using Dr Tim's ammonium chloride and Tetra Safe Start as my source of bacteria (this has been going for 1 week so far). I am aware this can take quite some time, but I have a few questions about the test results I have been getting over the past week. I have measured pH and Ammonia every day and Nitrite every other day using the API liquid master test kit so far and have been confused with the results regarding the pH.

For reference, my tap water pH after sitting out for 24H reads 7.2.

The aquarium water also started at this last week, but has been rising every other day to the point where it is unreadable on the colour chart, past the maximum reading of 7.6 (the colour in the test tube is the same as it comes out of the bottle, a very dark blue). I used the high range pH test to obtain a reading of 7.8 on the 30th and 7.4 on the 31st. However, when I used the normal range test on the 31st, the pH was off the chart again, despite the high range test stating it was 7.4, which should have been detectable in the normal range test.