Antheridium94 Antheridium94
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 1/11/2018 23:44
Stocking advice for a new 240L tank #1
Hello,
I was wondering if anyone would be able to offer some advice:

I apologise in advance for bombarding the forum, as I have already set up a separate post on another issue I am having with pH, but I am new to the hobby and want to make sure I have things as safe and correct as possible before I add any fish.

I recently set up my first aquarium, a fluval roma 240L, with the intention of creating a peaceful freshwater tropical community. I am also currently undergoing a fishless cycle using Dr Tim's ammonium chloride and Tetra Safe Start as my source of bacteria (this has been going for 1 week so far). I know I am a long way off adding any fish at the minute, as I need to stabilise the tank, but I've been researching into species that may be appropriate for my tank and compatible with each other.

Tank Information:
• Tank Dimensions L120 x W40 x H55cm.
• Capacity is 240L, however mine is holding 205L due to substrate, plants and décor.
• Running with Fluval 306 external canister filter, Fluval E-series 300W heater set to 25 Celsius and a Fluval Q2 Air pump set to a moderate output.

Unfortunately, a lot of the information I have read and received from local aquatic shops is conflicting regarding stocking levels and compatibility.

I have a list of potential options I am considering that would be able to tolerate my tank conditions (temperature, hardness etc.) and was hoping someone might be able to let me know if I can create any combinations from my list that would work or if I have gotten anything wrong.

My first question is how many small to medium fish could I accommodate in the tank without overcrowding and to leave enough territory and swimming space?