FishareFriends FishareFriends
  • Just popping in
  • Just popping in
  • Group: Registered Users
  • Posted on: 6/2 14:32
Friendly Advice... #1
Hi Guys & Dolls,

I am after some advice. I'm not experienced at keeping fish, although I have done plenty of research.

I decided to do a fish-in cycle (I have 2 boys who were very impatient...) & I've had my tank for almost 2 weeks now. I filled the tank up, brought it to temperature (24.8 degrees), set my filter up and added bacteria/tapsafe 3 days before adding the fish. I took a sample of the water on the day of buying them (before buying them, I must add) and it came back as: 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, between 20-40 nitrate (its difficult to distinguish between the two on the API test card), and a pH of 7.6. I determined this as a good result.

So, I added 4 Guppies, 4 Red Shrimps and 2 armoured shrimps, 1 live plant and 1 moss ball to the aquarium (I possibly went overkill on the shrimps, but I figured they'd do their bit to help reduce the amount of waste that's produced during cycling)

I've been taking samples everyday (every other day at the absolute least) and the results initially were pretty stable. I've also been doing 25% water changes every other day with a gravelvac.

Over the last few days, I've noticed some anomalies occurring. One day I had 0.25 Ammonia, 0.25 Nitrite, 20-40 Nitrate; I did a 40% water change once I had noticed this. The next day, I had 0.25 Ammonia, 0 Nitrite, 10-20 Nitrate; I did a 25% water change.

It hasn't dropped from 0.25 Ammonia, 0 Nitrite, 10-20 Nitrate (although this does fluctuate between 10-20 and 20-40, this may be my interpretation against the test card but it never gets higher than 40)

I've now started doing water changes everyday to see if I can get rid of the high ammonia. I did happen to test what the ammonia is at the tap, (without adding tapsafe) and that did come back as 0.25.

My questions are:

- Is this all normal in a fish-in cycle?